Skip to content

Skin care.

10/29/2009

myskin

For many of us, proper skin care can be a challenge, especially if you have acne-prone skin and/or combination skin. There are unyielding amounts of product out there from drugstore to department. One can’t help but try everything in hopes of a miracle. Well, I can finally say that I have found solace. I wanted to share what I use for my skin type. And even go as far to show you my face post wake-up. Pardon my eyeglass impressions, freckles, and scar by the eye. Don’t be scared. Lol.  

I have late-twenty’s combination skin, oily t-zone & dry cheeks. My forehead is especially  prone to breakouts and oiliness.

Skin care goes as follows and applies to all-over face & neck only:

A.M. ~ I don’t wash my face in the morning anymore. This may sound gross but it has helped me a lot. Not to mention lessened time to get ready. Your skin heals itself during sleep and I want to avoid washing away the skin’s natural oils. I do apply a moisurizer with SPF if I will be exposed outside. I use whatever I have at the moment. Right now, it’s Eucerin Everyday Protection Face Lotion SPF 30 (non-comedogenic, fragrance-free). If I wash my face during the day, after a workout at the gym for example, I use the MyChelle cleanser & Zia toner (see P.M. routine) followed by AnnMarie Borlind Combination Skin Light Day Essence. This line is nice, on the pricier side but well worth it.

P.M. ~ The routine at night makes up for the time saved in the morning. Lol. I wash with MyChelle Fruit Enzyme Cleanser. It’s concentrated and a little goes a long way. Dab face dry. Next, I spray on Zia SkinBasics Sea Tonic Rosewater & Aloe Toner With Ylang Ylang. It helps with moisturizing. And it feels refreshingly soothing. Lastly, I moisturize with Oil of Olay Total Effects 7-in-1 Anti-Aging Moisturizer (fragrance-free + no SPF). I only dab on my forehead the left-over from applying to rest of face & neck.  It’s important to moisturize where you are oily. Oiliness signifies deep down dehydrated skin. I used to avoid putting any moisturizer on my forehead, thinking that it would only worsen shine. But as soon as I started hydrating, it’s honestly kept oiliness at bay.

ALWAYS cleanse & hydrate skin before bed.

ACNE/BREAKOUTS ~ If I experience a possible breakout, I apply 2.5% Benzoyl Peroxide, specifically Proactiv Repairing Lotion. Using it only where needed and at night before bed. For acne that’s already present, I suggest using Clean & Clear Deep Cleansing Astringent after washing face and before applying Benzoyl Peroxide. As soon as skin clears & dryness/redness occurs, I stop using both. If possible use only when necessary, so as not to strip skin of its natural oils/healing.
Let the skin rest, no matter what, and continue with regular routine. 

EYE MAKEUP REMOVER ~ Using cotton rounds/pads, dabble on Lancome EFFACIL Gentle Eye Makeup Remover and gently press on eye, hold for a moment or so, to let remover break up makeup. Very gently pat/wipe off. Skin around the eye is delicate. 

EXFOLIATION ~ Once a week, use a face cleansing brush with St.Ives Swiss Formula Apricot Scrub Invigorating for All Skin Types

FACIAL MASSAGE ~ Once a week, massage Aura Cacia Sweet Almond Natural Skin Care Oil to stimulate face muscles and promote firmness/skin tone. Relieves stress too. 

With the exception of the Lancome EFFACIL, products were purchased from Whole Foods or a local drugstore. You can find all on Amazon at good deals.

Kindly note that everyone differs in skin type & issues. These are what I have found to help me and cannot promise that they will work for you. But sharing is caring after all. What are products you like and suggest?

Good luck. oxo

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

